Article 6

The Executive

The Council will appoint the Leader of the Council. The Leader will determine the size and membership of the Executive, will appoint Members to the Executive and appoint one of those Members as the Deputy Leader. When determining the allocation of responsibilities (see Part 3 of the Constitution) the Leader will also determine any delegations to individual Members (of the Executive) who will be known as Portfolio Holders.

The Executive will consist of the Executive Leader together with at least two but not more than nine other Councillors.

The Terms of Reference set out the Executive's functions. The Rules of Procedure set out and determine how the Executive will operate and include arrangements for meetings, individual decision-making, and the Allocation of Responsibilities.

There may be no co-optees, deputies nor substitution of Executive Members. Neither the Mayor nor Deputy Mayor of the Council may be appointed to the Executive. No member of the Audit committee may be an executive member. The Chair of any planning committee may not be an executive member. Members of the Executive may not be Members of the Overview or Scrutiny Committee or one of its sub-committees.

Part 3A of the Constitution includes a full description of the responsibilities of Portfolio Holders.